toddler storytime

This week’s toddler storytime was pretty much business as usual, except that I used one of my new sets of multi-copy board books. At the end of the fiscal year, I used some leftover grant money to purchase a few new sets. I had previously done a training on multi-copy storytimes and wanted more material to try out the technique.

For this storytime, when I got to the part where I share a book, I passed out copies of Petr Horáček’s Choo Choo. I especially love the board book edition of this book because the tops of the pages are cut like the mountains in the background. I had a fairly small group this week, so it was fun to sit closely with the kids and really focus on each page and repeating the sound effects.

I used the Five Little Apples flannel again, and the kids still love it! They really get excited to knock an apple off the felt board, which means we usually have to sing it more than just five times so everyone gets a turn.

Leave a Reply

