kindergarten storytime: crocogators

School age groups are out-of-the-norm for me, so I was excited to have a kindergarten group walk over to the branch the other day for storytime. I took one of the preschool storytimes I had already planned and tweaked it a bit.

Earlier in the week, a regular patron noticed the craft I was preparing and started asking questions. Soon we were on a fact-finding mission to discover all the differences between crocodiles and alligators, and eventually she dubbed my craft a “crocogator.”

Books shared:

How the Elephant Got Its Trunk: A Retelling of the Rudyard Kipling Tale by Jean Richards

Where’s Your Smile, Crocodile? by Claire Freedman

I was thinking of using this craft from Narrating Tales of Preschool Storytime for the preschoolers, but wanted to do something more with the kindergarteners. I found this alligator craft on Enchanted Learning and modified it slightly to suit my needs.

The results were really cute! I cut out the main shape in advance, but drew lines for them to cut themselves to make the back spikes. Most of the kids got the concept of folding back the paper to make spikes, but a few needed help. I especially love the little girl who gave her crocogator a heart.

Leave a Reply

