preschool storytime: crocogators


This storytime was very similar to the crocogator theme I did with a kindergarten class a couple of weeks before. I changed out one of the books and had a different craft. This craft was definitely a big hit. I also did the 5 Little Monkeys rhyme with the preschoolers and it was a big hit. (I have not yet made the adorable finger puppets, we just used our plain fingers.) Most of them knew it already, so they were ready to shout “SNAPPED!” at the appropriate time.

Books shared:

How the Elephant Got Its Trunk: A Retelling of the Rudyard Kipling Tale by Jean Richards

For Pete’s Sake by Ellen Stoll Walsh

This group loved How the Elephant Got Its Trunk, just as the kindergarten did. I read For Pete’s Sake with a lot of discussion built in, which worked well.

The craft I borrowed from Narrating Tales of Preschool Storytime. I made my crocodiles bigger than the template and used teeth I had left over from a shark craft. I was afraid the kids would finish the craft too quickly, so I used white paper for the crocodiles and had them color them in. This resulted in some crazy colorful crocogators! Once they were done and had attached the brass fastener, they ran around the room snapping their crocs.

Leave a Reply

