preschool storytime: eating/picnic storytime

Sometimes my storytime theme is really loose. For this storytime, I really wanted to read My Little Sister Ate One Hare by Grossman. I had also put We’re Going on a Picnic by Hutchins on my list, so I decided to do the two together.

Books shared:

My Little Sister Ate One Hare by Bill Grossman

We’re Going on a Picnic by Pat Hutchins

The Grossman book went over very well. I got lots of “ewwwwwwws” and “gross!” which was exactly what I was going for. They were especially appalled at her eating of the ants’ underpants. When she finally throws up at the end, they were shocked. They thought she would never puke.

The Hutchins story was much sweeter, and with a little prompting, they realized that the hen, duck, and goose are being duped by the rodents.

For a craft, I really wanted to do a basket, but was having a hard time finding a pattern I liked. Finally I found this basket on some Bible lessons site. I made my basket bigger, and cut it out of white construction paper, so there was no woven design on mine. It was a big hit! They loved carrying them around once they were done. 

Leave a Reply

