preschool storytime: mittens

It’s finally started to get cold around here, so I don’t feel so silly reading winter books!  I really love the folktale of The Mitten, and knew I wanted to read it, but went back and forth over whether to use the Brett or Tresselt version. I finally decided on Tresselt, thinking the pictures would be easier to see from afar and that the wording would work better for my group.

Books shared:

The Mitten by Alvin Tresselt

One Mitten by Kristine O’Connell George

I actually did the storytime while wearing a mitten (only one so that I still had fingers for page-turning.) When the seams in the story started to stretch and burst, I showed them the seams on my mitten – and many of them found mittens in their own pockets to check out. (One dismayed little boy cried: “I wore gloves today!”) The Mitten went over really well, though I’m not sure they understood that the narrator was supposed to be the little boy’s grandchild, but oh well.

One Mitten did not go over as well. I had thought it was cute when I was reading it to myself, but the kids just didn’t see the humor I guess. I had a couple other books that perhaps I should have gone with: One Little Lamb by Greenstein or Holly’s Red Boots by Francesca Chessa.

I had to hold this storytime in the children’s area of the library (rather than the community meeting room) so I needed to plan a craft that could be done in limited space. The leaves had worked so wonderfully as decorations in the fall, so I though I’d have the kids make mittens to change over for winter decorations. I forgot to take pictures until they were already hung up, so the photos aren’t as good, but you get the idea.


One comment

  1. […] did a simple mitten craft, as I have done before. I also did a hat craft this year, as suggested by Leona (aka @layleevj) who came to the rescue […]

Leave a Reply

