preschool storytime: snow

I really wanted to try reading Schertle’s All You Need for a Snowman while drawing the snowman, and I decided to do it this week since soon the weather will mean the kids can’t walk over for storytime.

Books shared:

All You Need for a Snowman by Alice Schertle

In the Snow by Sharon Phillips Denslow

I ended up with a small group, but it was really fun to have kids help draw the snowman as we read along with All You Need for a Snowman. I think he came out quite nicely.

In the Snow also went over well, I love that you see all the animals again at the end of the book so I could quiz them on the new bird names (cardinal, chickadee) and animals (possum) we had learned.

For the craft, I had covered the tables with paper and encouraged them to draw their own snowmen, which went pretty well. Having drawn one together meant that most of them just stuck with that model and perhaps were a little less creative than they would have been otherwise, but they came out cute nonetheless!

One comment

  1. […] year I did a story time using Alice Schertle’s All You Need for a Snowman and it was awesome. This year I did the […]

Leave a Reply

