preschool story time: the alphabet

I had an idea for a craft that I wanted to use in story time. I’m not a huge stickler for themes, but I pulled a few alphabet books to make it more cohesive. One of the books I really wanted to use, Alligator Alphabet, unfortunately did not come in time.  If I was doing it again, I would probably substitute Alligator for LMNO Peas. I love LMNO Peas but the illustrations were hard for the kids to see from far away.

Books shared:

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom by Bill Martin

LMNO Peas by Keith Baker

Apple Pie ABC by Alison Murray

One of the classes in attendance had read Chicka recently, so there was little suspense for them. One kid kept yelling, “they’re all going to fall!” as an answer to any of my questions. Like I said above, LMNO Peas is a nice book with a lot of good vocab, but it was hard for some of the kids to see the small peas from their seats. Perhaps better as a lap book. Apple Pie ABC wasn’t the best, but it worked okay. There are few words, so I did plenty of questioning of the kids to make sure they all understood what was happening.

I was really excited about this craft. I looooooved the idea of it. The brilliant idea I had was to draw letters on blank paper, and then the kids would make the letters into a picture. (For example, taking the letter B and turning it into a butterfly by adding wings on the other side and coloring it in. Or taking the letter A and making in into someone’s hat.) One kid, out of about 35, really got it. The rest of them still had a nice time and made nice pictures, but the brilliancy of my craft was lost upon them. A few of them misunderstood and drew pictures of items that start with the letters on their paper, also a useful exercise. I still like my idea, but am thinking it would go over better with some older kids.

This is the drawing of the kid who got it. He took a letter “V” and made it into the handlebars of a bicycle, and a “g” and made it into a butterfly. I really love the bicycle.

alphabet drawing

Here’s a slideshow of some of the other drawings. Very creative!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

