preschool story time: winter

I’ve done a couple of winterish story times this year, so I thought I’d mash them together into one post.

Books shared:

The Mitten by Jim Aylesworth

Holly’s Red Boots by Francesca Chessa*

One Mitten by Kristine O’Connell George*

No Two Alike by Keith Baker*

Tippy-tippy-tippy Hide! by Candace Fleming

In the Snow by Sharon Phillips Denslow*

Ten in the Sled by Kim Norman*

Snow by Manya Stojic

*also good for toddlers

I did a simple mitten craft, as I have done before. I also did a hat craft this year, as suggested by Leona (aka @layleevj) who came to the rescue via twitter when I was having a major mental block.

The hats came out really cute. I did them a few times, and they evolved as I went along. I cut paper plates in half, had the kids decorate with crayons, and then glued a strip on to make a “brim” on the bottom and added a pom-pom to the top. One time the brims were made of felt, but the otherwise they were made of construction paper. Mostly the pom-poms were craft pom-poms, but one time they were just construction paper circles. Here’s a few of the different variations.

Leave a Reply

