make your own stamps

I saw that another branch in my system had done some vegetable stamping. I wanted to do stamping, too! But I had no vegetables, and didn’t want to spend any money. So I grabbed some Chobani cups (I use these for everything) and random stuff I found in my drawer. I had some square foam thingys, a drinking straw, sponges, pipe cleaners, bubble wrap, a bunch of foam shapes. I glued the objects to the bottom of the yogurt cups and voila: stamps. The bubble wrap came out particularly cool, as did the pipe cleaner, which I had shaped into a spiral. I had the kids paint the paint onto the stamp with a brush. (I tried dipping them into the paint myself, but the stamp came away with too much paint and it was a very gloppy experience.) I had a bunch of paper towels out for them to wipe off stamps between different colors, which worked well as we don’t have a sink in the room.

In a perfect world, I would have had a hot glue gun which I think would have stuck better and also dried much faster. I also would have thought to wet the sponge, cut it into a shape, then let it dry before gluing it. (Instead, I laboriously cut a dry sponge into a circle.)

All sorts of interesting objects are now presenting themselves are possible stamps and I’ve started stowing away stuff to make more. Here are things I’ve started hoarding:

  • the empty-ring left behind after a roll of tape
  • packing peanuts
  • fake flowers
  • pom-poms
  • rocks/stones/those-things-people-put-in-the-bottom-of-vases
  • legos
  • bottle caps of varying sizes
  • erasers
  • 2011 2009 2008 2010
Leave a Reply

