preschool storytime: jack & the beanstalk

Another librarian shared this post on Lessons from a Teacher with me, and I knew I wanted to do this project this summer. I slotted it to go with my garden storytime, and ended up doing the project with many different groups of kids over the course of a couple of weeks.

I couldn’t find a version of Jack and the Beanstalk that worked for me. I had used the Nina Crews version before, but I didn’t have it on hand and had no time to request a copy. So instead I just made my own. I had been wanting to try flashcard-storytelling, so here was my chance. I typed up the words I wanted to use, and pasted them on the back of construction paper. On the front of each “page” I pasted an image from clip art or free image search engines. I held up each card for the kids to see the image while I read the words on the back. They actually came out quite nice, I think!

jackstory

I did this project during a major heatwave, so unfortunately we had to do it inside. I put some big paper down on the floor and put a plastic bin with dirt in the middle. I had a couple of cups for scooping dirt, and some containers with beans. On the other side of the room I set up castles with crayons for the kids to color. While they were coloring, I had the grown-ups send me a few kids at a time to do the planting. (I did soak the beans overnight beforehand and I think it really helped. Mine was showing visible growth the next day!) I wrote the kids’ names on their planting cups and sent them back to finish coloring. One of the grown-ups helped them once they were done coloring to tape their castle to the end of a skewer and stick it in their cup. It actually went much smoother than I expected. (I would have liked to glue on cotton balls for clouds. But the grown-up to kid ratio is usually not great, so I didn’t want to add glue to the equation.)

3

photo 2

They came out so cute! The kids absolutely loved it and so did the grown-ups. I’ve had many reports of tall beanstalks growing right up to the castle! Mine chose to grow to the side, instead of up the skewer, but it still looks pretty cool!

Leave a Reply

