preschool storytime: wild west

I observed one of my colleagues present a Western themed storytime and I immediately requested the books to do it myself. She had many great choices she shared with the kids, but I chose just 2 to use with my groups.

Books shared:

She’ll Be Coming ‘Round the Mountain by Jonathan Emmett

Are You a Horse? by Andy Rash

Both of the books worked great for all of my groups. I ended up doing this storytime 6 different times! This version of She’ll Be Coming ‘Round the Mountain has built in actions for the kids to join in with as you read/sing the book. The second book prompts the kids to think about descriptive words and characteristics. It’s also quite silly.


For the craft, I had the kids make cowboy hats and they came out cuter than I could have imagined. I cut out a cowboy hat shape from large (9″ x 18″) construction paper and had them decorate both sides to their satisfaction. I had headbands made and ready to go. I stapled the cowboy hat to the front as I stapled them for size and voila! Instant cowboy or cowgirl. There was a great deal of yee-hawing on their way out of the library.

kids wearing cowboy hats

Leave a Reply

